Skip to content Skip to navigation
The University of Arizona

Calculation Options

To change the calculation options for the grade book:

1. Click the Settings link located in the top, right corner of the screen.


Click the Calculation Options tab2. Click the Calculation Options tab.


Settings you can control on this screen are:

Grading System
The Default Setting is Points.

  • Weighted: Select this option to use a Weighted grade book calculation. Under a Weighted system, grade categories are assigned a weight as a percentage of the final grade. Grade items are assigned a weight as a percentage of their parent grade category, or of the final grade if they have no parent category.
  • Points: Select this option to use a Points grade book calculation. Under a Points system, grade items are given a worth in points. Categories are then weighted by the sum of the points of their child grade items and the final grade becomes the total number of points of all grade items.
  • Formula: Select this option to use a Formula grade book calculation. Under a Formula system, grade items are given a worth in points. Then a custom-defined formula determines how they contribute to the calculated final grade.

Final Grade Released: Selecting one of the below settings does NOT release a final grade to participants. You are only selecting which final grade will be released to participants when you choose to release it. The Default Setting is Adjusted Final Grade.

  • Calculated Final Grade: Select this option to have the Calculated Final Grade released to participants.
  • Adjusted Final Grade: Select this option to have the Adjusted Final Grade released to participants.

Grade Calculations
The Default Setting is Treat ungraded items as 0.

  • Drop ungraded items: Select this option to exclude ungraded grade items from the final grade calculation.
  • Treat ungraded items as 0: Select this option to automatically assign a value of 0 to all ungraded grade items.

Auto Update: Select this option to keep your Final Calculated Grade updated automatically. The Default Setting is selected.