Skip to content Skip to navigation
The University of Arizona

Sharing Groups

Sharing Groups are used to allow you to group individuals and/or courses together that you will commonly want to share part or all of your ePortfolio with.


To create Sharing Groups within your ePortfolio do the following:

Image of the ePortfolio link in the D2L My Home page navigationClick to enlarge image

1. Click the ePortfolio link on the My Home navigation bar to access ePortfolio



Image of the Sharing Groups link at the top of the ePortfolio pageClick to enlarge image

2. Click the Sharing Groups link.



Image of the Sharing Groups page with the "New Sharing Group" button highlightedClick to enlarge image

3. Click the New Sharing Group button.



Image of New Sharing Group page with the Name and Description fields and "Add Users" button highlighted.Click to enlarge image

4. Enter a name for your Sharing Group within the Name field. After entering a name click on the page or hit tab to move to the Description field. Upon doing so you'll be given the option to add users

5. Optional: Type a description of the sharing group in the Description field.

6. Click the Add Users button to begin adding individuals or courses to the Sharing Group.

You will arrive on the All tab of the New Sharing Group - Settings page. This page shows everyone with D2L accounts at the University of Arizona as well as all of your available courses in D2L.You can click the Users tab to see just people in D2L, or the Courses tab to see just your courses in D2L.



Add Users to a Sharing Group

This section continues from step 6 at the top of the page.

Image of the New Sharing Group page with the Search field, Add Members and Assign Permissions areas and "Add" button highlightedClick to enlarge image

7. To locate an individual in the All or Users tab type in their UA NetID (the part of their UA email address before the @email.arizona.edu)

8. Click on the name of the person within the listed results to add them to the Add Members area of the page.

9. Repeat steps 7 and 8 for each additional person you would like to add to the Sharing Group.

10. When you have added everybody you want to the sharing group you will need to choose what permissions this sharing group will have:

  • See comments from others: Choose whether individuals can see comments left on items shared with this sharing group.
  • Add comments: Choose whether individuals can add comments to items shared with this sharing group.
  • See assessments from others: Choose whether individuals can see assessments left on items shared with this sharing group.
  • Add assessments: Choose whether individuals can add assessments to items shared with this sharing group.
  • Edit: Choose whether individuals can edit items in your ePortfolio that are shared with this sharing group.

11. Click Add to finish adding individuals to your Sharing Group.



Image of the New Sharing Group page with the "Save and Close" button highlighted.Click to enlarge image

 

 

 

 

 

 

12. Click Save and Close to finish creating your Sharing Group.


Back to Top


Add Courses to a Sharing Group

This section continues from step 6 at the top of the page.

Image of the Sharing Groups page showing the Courses tab. Within it the Add Members and Assign Permissions fields and "Add" button are highlighted.Click to enlarge image

7. Click the Courses tab

8.  Click on the course(s) you would like to add to the Sharing Group.

9. Scroll down to the Assign Permissions section. When you have added everybody you want to the sharing group you will need to choose what permissions this sharing group will have:

  • See comments from others: Choose whether individuals can see comments left on items shared with this sharing group.
  • Add comments: Choose whether individuals can add comments to items shared with this sharing group.
  • See assessments from others: Choose whether individuals can see assessments left on items shared with this sharing group.
  • Add assessments: Choose whether individuals can add assessments to items shared with this sharing group.
  • Edit: Choose whether individuals can edit items in your ePortfolio that are shared with this sharing group.

10. Click Add to finish adding individuals to your Sharing Group.



Image of the Sharing Groups page with the "Save and Close" button highlightedClick to enlarge image

 

 

 

 

 

 

11. Click Save and Close to finish creating your Sharing Group.


Back to Top