Instructor: Teaching Team Enrollments

1. Determine: What Role to Assign Participants

 Information about the roles and associated permissions in a D2L course site.

Instructor

  • Can: create, edit, and view all areas of a course site and copy course materials from one D2L course site to another. This is the only role that can enroll and unenroll participants from a course site with the exception of students. All student enrollment in a course occurs only through UAccess.

Note: All Instructor roles, by default, have access to students in all sections. You are required to select a section when you add teaching team members. Select any section and a person with one of the instructor roles has access to all sections.

Instructor Read Only

  • Can: view course materials and activities in active and inactive course sites and participate in discussions, chat and email. It can also preview quizzes and view files that have been submitted to assignment folders.
  • Cannot: create, edit, or delete any materials or activities or see grades, quiz scores, or assignment feedback.

Instructor Read Copy

  • Can: view course materials and activities in active and inactive course sites and participate in discussions, chat and email. It can also preview quizzes and view files that have been submitted to assignment folders; this role can copy course materials from one D2L course site to another.
  • Cannot: create, edit, or delete any materials or activities or see grades, quiz scores, or assignment feedback.

Support Staff

  • Can: create, edit, and view in all areas of a course site except grades. This role can copy course materials, excluding grade categories and items, from one D2L course site to another.
  • Cannot: view grade-related items such as quiz scores, survey results, files submitted to assignment folders, and assignment feedback.

TA All Sections

  • Can: create, edit, and view in most areas of a course site.
  • Cannot: delete anything in any area of a D2L course site. While this role can view and enter data in the grades tool, it cannot create, edit, or delete grade categories or items.

Note: The TA All Sections role, by default, has access to students in all sections. You are required to select a section when you add teaching team members, you can select any section and a person with the TA All Sections role has access to all sections.

TA Specific Sections

  • Can: create, edit, and view in most areas of a course site. Can only view and enter data for grade-related items for sections specified by the instructor.
  • Cannot: delete anything in any area of a D2L course site.

Grader All Sections

  • Can: view and enter data for grade-related items such as grades, quizzes, surveys, files submitted to Assignment folders, and Assignment feedback. Has read-only access to most areas of the course site.
  • Cannot: create, edit, or delete any course materials or activities.

Note: Grader All Sections, by default, has access to students in all sections. You are required to select a section when you add teaching team members, you can select any section and a person with the Grader All Sections role has access to all sections.

Grader Specific Sections

  • Can: view and enter data for grade-related items such as grades, quizzes, surveys, files submitted to Assignment folders, and Assignment feedback only for sections defined by the course instructor. Has read-only access to most areas of the course site.
  • Cannot: create, edit, or delete any course materials or activities.

Preceptor

  • Can: create, edit, delete, and view almost all areas of a D2L course site.
  • Cannot: view grades, quiz scores, survey results, files submitted to Assignment folders, or Assignment feedback.

Guest

  • Can: read-only access Content, Links and Announcements.
  • Cannot: have ANY access to tools that contain student data. This role meets FERPA guidelines. 
Close

2. Manage: Teaching Team Enrollments

Add or remove individuals of your teaching team to a course site.

To add individuals:

 

  1. Click on the Classlist tab on your course navbar.classlist tool on navigation bar

     

  2. Click Add Participants button to select Find users.classlist add existing users button
  3. Search for individual using their UA NetID and click Search icon.search for box

     

  4. Select the individual, the designated Role and the Section.

    Note: All Instructor roles, TA All Sections and Grader All Sections roles have access to all students in the course site by default.  Select any section in which to enroll them and they will have access to all students in the course site.

    screenshot of selected user with role and section selected in dropdowns
  5. Click the Enroll Selected Users button at the bottom of the page to finish enrolling.
     
  6. Click Done button to get back to the Classlist, or Add More Participants to continue to add more individuals.Done button after enrolling individuals

     

To remove individuals:

  1. Click on the Classlist tab on your course navbar.classlist tool on navigation bar

     

  2. Search for the individual within your list of participants and select the individual.
  3. Click the Unenroll icon located at the top of the list of participants.select and unenroll individual from classlist image

     

  4. Click the Yes button on the confirmation widow that pops up. yes confirmation page to unenroll image

     

Close

3. Manage:  Enroll TAs or Graders into a specific section or more than 1 section

Add or remove individuals with TA specific section or Grader specific section role.

 

  1. Click on the Classlist tab on your course navbar.classlist tool on navigation bar

     

  2. Click Add Participants button to select Find users.classlist add existing users button
  3. Search for individual using their UA NetID and click Search icon.search for box

     

  4. Select the individual, the designated Role and the Section.

    Note: All Instructor roles, TA All Sections and Grader All Sections roles have access to all students in the course site by default.  Select any section in which to enroll them and they will have access to all students in the course site.

    screenshot of selected user with role and section selected in dropdowns

     

  5. Click the Enroll Selected Users button at the bottom of the page to finish enrolling.
     
  6. Click Done button to get back to the Classlist, or Add More Participants to continue to add more individuals.Done button after enrolling individuals

To add the individual to additional sections:

  1. Click on Course Admin in the navbar.Image of navbar with Course Admin circled

     

  2. Click on the Sections link.Course Admin screen with sections circled

     

  3. Click on the Enroll Users button.manage sections screen with enroll users button circled

     

  4. Locate the TA and click on the check box under the additional sections they are managing.image of list of students with TA circled and additonal section checked

     

  5. Click the Save button.

To remove individuals:

  1. Click on the Classlist tab on your course navbar.classlist tool on navigation bar

     

  2. Search for the individual within your list of participants and select the individual.
  3. Click the Unenroll icon located at the top of the list of participants.select and unenroll individual from classlist image

     

  4. Click the Yes button on the confirmation widow that pops up. yes confirmation page to unenroll image
Close

4. Modify: Teaching Team Roles

Change the role of a teaching team member already in your course site.

To change a participant's role:

  1. Click on the Classlist tab on your course navbar.classlist tool on navigation bar
  2. Search for the individual within your list of participants and select the individual.search for box
  3. Check the box to the left of the individual to select him or her and then click the Enrollment icon located at the top of the list of participants.classlist enrollment button
  4. Click on the New Role drop-down menu to select the participant's new role.change enrollment dropdown menu and save image
  5. Click the Save button located at the bottom of the page to confirm.
Close

Back to Top