Release Conditions

1. About: Release Conditions

Learn about release conditions and their uses.

Release Conditions allow you to restrict who can access course materials, complete activities, or view a grade item based upon customized criteria. Release conditions are available within a number of different D2L tools and work essentially the same way in every tool, although you may have to access them differently.

Potential Uses

Some of the things you can do include:

  • Require students to visit a topic in the Content tool before they can post to a Discussion board
  • Restrict a Discussion board so that only members of an honors section can access it
  • Require students to submit an Assignment before they can take a Quiz
  • Require that students receive a certain score on an Assignment rubric before they can view a topic in the Content
  • Restrict an Announcement so that only students who failed a Quiz can view it
Close

2. Create: A New Release Condition

Create and attach a release condition to your course material.

  1. In the activity, navigate to Release Conditions (often found in the Restrictions tab).
  2. Select the Create and Attach button or Create (in Content tool). Screenshot of Release Conditions options with Create and Attach circled.

     

  3. Use the Condition Type drop down menu to select what area to restrict by. Screenshot of the Release Condition options dropdown box.

     

  4. The Condition Details drop down menu will update based on what was selected for Condition Type. Select the specific requirement. 
  5. Based on what was selected above, additional information may be required. Once all information has been entered, select the Create button. 
  6. Once a release condition has been attached, a new menu that allows you to set how conditions must be met will become active. This menu is only relevant if you have more than one condition attached. If so, select one of the following options:
    • All conditions must be met
    • Any condition must be met. Selecting Any condition must be met means that a participant must satisfy only one of the conditions listed to access the restricted course material or activity. Screenshot showing the All or Any conditions must be met options.

       

  7. Select one of the Save options at the bottom of the screen to save your changes
Close

3. Add: An Existing Release Condition

Add a Release Condition you've already created to your course.

  1. To apply a release condition that you have used in your D2L course site before, click the Attach Existing or Browse (in Content) button. Screenshot of Release Conditions options with Attach Existing circled.

     

  2. Select the release condition(s) to be used by checking the box to the left of the condition(s). If you have a long list of available release conditions, you can use the View Conditions for drop down menu to filter by a specific tool.
  3. Select the Attach button.
  4. Once a release condition has been attached, a new menu that allows you to set how conditions must be met will become active. This menu is only relevant if you have more than one condition attached. If so, select one of the following options:
    • All conditions must be met
    • Any condition must be met. Selecting Any condition must be met means that a participant must satisfy only one of the conditions listed to access the restricted course material or activity. Screenshot showing the All or Any conditions must be met options.

       

  5. Select one of the Save options at the bottom of the screen to save your changes
Close

4. Delete: A Release Condition

Deleting a condition from a particular item in the course.

Once you have created a new Release Condition, you cannot delete it from the course; it remains in your list of existing Release Conditions. You can, however, detach it from a particular item.

  1. You must be in the edit window for that item. How you get there will depend upon the D2L tool you are using.
  2. Once in the edit window, look for Restrictions or Release Conditions.
  3. You have may have to click on Show Release Conditions before they will be visible to remove.
  4. Click on the "X" next to the Release Condition you wish to remove (if deleting several conditions, use Remove All Conditions instead). Screenshot of the Release Condition delete option, with the x circled.

     

  5. Select one of the Save options at the bottom of the screen to save your changes.
Close

Back to Top